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                     North Canton Police Department 

 

Re: Back to school safety tip / Stopping for a school bus 

 

[North Canton, OH.]  Schools in North Canton, Ohio started last week with Kindergarten starting 

Wednesday, August 27, 2014. One of the most important questions the police department encounters 

regarding back to school safety pertains to stopping for a school bus.   

 

What should you do when approaching any school bus that is stopped for the purpose of receiving or 

discharging school children?  

 

 When a school bus driver is preparing to stop the bus, he or she activates four amber lights – two on 

the front and two on the rear of the bus. These lights continue to flash until the bus is fully stopped. 

Other vehicles are not required to stop during this preliminary stage of the eight-light warning but 

should prepare to stop as soon as the bus comes to a full stop. When the bus comes to a complete 

stop, the amber lights stop flashing and four red lights – two in the front and two in the back – start 

flashing while the children enter or leave the bus. In addition, a stop arm with flashing red lights is 

automatically extended beneath the window on the left side of the bus.   

 

 If a bus is stopped on a street or road which has fewer than 4 lanes, all traffic proceeding in either 

direction must stop at least 10 feet from the front or rear of the bus. 

 

 You must not proceed until the school bus resumes motion, or until signaled by the school bus driver 

to proceed. 

 

 If a bus is stopped on a street or road which has 4 or more lanes, only traffic proceeding in the same 

direction as the bus must stop. 

 

If you fail to stop for a school bus, your error will not go unnoticed. Bus drivers will report to the police 

department, the license plate number of any vehicle that fails to comply with the law. An investigation will 

be conducted to identify the driver for enforcement purposes. 

 

Penalties for not obeying these rules could cost you up to $500.00 and a maximum 1 year suspension of your 

driver’s license. (ORC. 4511.75).  

http://www.northcantonpolice.org/


The North Canton Police Department wants to remind all motorists the speed limit in school zones are 

specified in the Ohio Revised Code 4511.21 Speed limits - assured clear distance. (a) Twenty miles per 

hour in school zones during school recess and while children are going to or leaving school during the 

opening or closing hours, and when twenty miles per hour school speed limit signs are erected; except that, 

on controlled-access highways and expressways, if the right-of-way line fence has been erected without 

pedestrian opening, the speed shall be governed by division (B)(4) of this section and on freeways, if the 

right-of-way line fence has been erected without pedestrian opening, the speed shall be governed by 

divisions (B)(9) and (10) of this section. The end of every school zone may be marked by a sign indicating 

the end of the zone. Nothing in this section or in the manual and specifications for a uniform system of 

traffic control devices shall be construed to require school zones to be indicated by signs equipped with 

flashing or other lights, or giving other special notice of the hours in which the school zone speed limit is in 

effect.       

 

Please obey these laws and other safe driving habits to assure the safety of our community and others like it 

throughout one’s travels. 
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